A Peek into my Week

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! This is the start of a new series on the blog called “A Peek into my Week”.  I will do a weekly recap of all the happenings in my life so that you can get to know me a little bit better! This post is a little longer than most (sorry!) because it will contain some stuff from last week too. Here we go!

IMG_0266

Baking Cookies!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Last week I finished up my final exams and came home on monday evening.  Most of that week I helped my mom shop and prepare for Christmas at our house. That included making tons of Christmas cookies. I always love helping because it lets my create side out and it is so fun decorating the cookies. I also don’t mind being able to eat the mess-ups! haha My mom also taught me how to make my grandfather’s infamous cinnamon bread. It is a tradition to have this bread on Christmas morning, and now that my grandfather has passed my mom has taken over the task of making it for everyone in our family. Later in the week I attended my friend from college’s, who also happens to live in my town, family Christmas party.  On sunday my friend from high school hosted her annual Festivus/ugly Christmas sweater party. It was so good to see my high school friends and catch up on each other’s lives.

Obviously this week was Christmas!!! The beginning of the week marked the start of me working with my dad and shadowing him.  He is a lawyer and I am contemplating going to law school so I will be interning in his office all winter break.  There is really no pictures to go along with this aspect of my week due to the fact that I am just wearing your typical work attire and most of the times I cannot have my phone in court.

FullSizeRender

Our Family Christmas Card!

Thursday was Christmas Eve so we packed up the car and headed down to my cousin’s house in Fairfield, Connecticut.  This was her first christmas being married and in her and her husband’s new house and it was so fun to see it all decorated.  We had goose for dinner (a first for me!).  We were all a little iffy about how the goose would turn out, but it ended up being delicious.

Friday was Christmas day.  We opened presents and ate my mom’s delicious homemade cinnamon bread that as usual was out of this world.  My family hosted this year so my cousins and my aunt and uncle headed over to our place to celebrate Jesus’ birth.  I ate way more cookies than I would like to admit and was in a constant sugar coma the entire day.  But it was so nice to catch up and spend time with loved ones.

IMG_5477

My dad and I on Christmas Day

Saturday I slept in and spent most of the day in my pajamas (don’t you just love those morning?!).  Then to work off the hundreds of cookies I have eaten since being home from college (probably not an exaggeration!) my mom and I took a nice long walk along the farms down to the Connecticut river. It was so nice to be able to be outside and only have to wear a sweatshirt! This weather is nuts! Then that night I babysat my neighbors.

Sunday consisted of attending church and watching the Jets Patriots game.  It was a nail biter to the finish, but the Jets (my team!) came out victorious! GO JETS!

Overall it was a fantastic week spent with loved ones I do not get to see very often. I can’t wait to see what the week ahead has in store!

xoxo,
Haley⚓️

 

 

Leave a Reply

