Goodspeed Opera House

IMG_0121

IMG_0179

IMG_0156

IMG_0130

IMG_0168

IMG_0202

IMG_0183

On friday night I went with my family to see the musical Bye Bye Birdie at the Goodspeed Opera House in East Haddam, CT.  The quaint little town that sits on a river and overlooks an old steel bridge looks like it is pulled straight out of the 20s.  From the architecture to the decor inside the Opera House I felt like I was Daisy from the Great Gatsby.

The musical was fantastic.  It was funny and the voices of the actors and actresses were great. If you are in the area definitely go see the show!  Now, I haven’t been to the Goodspeed Opera House since 10th grade of High School.  When you first walk into the building you are greeted with red carpeting and a huge beautiful staircase with a chandelier hanging overhead.  At the top of the stairs is a members only lounge and as I talked with friends during intermission I couldn’t help but feel like I had teleported back at least 50 years. It was very Gatsby-esque.

IMG_0245

IMG_0123

IMG_0180

IMG_0162

IMG_0193

IMG_0205

For the musical, knowing I would be at this location, I wanted to look a little more dressed up and retro.  While this dress is very stylish right now, it also fit in perfectly with the surroundings, especially all of the big white porches.

IMG_0221

To make it feel a little more up to date I wore my new J. Crew crewcuts statement necklace (I switched out the neon ribbon for a  more neutral and age appropriate navy!).  I loved the pop of color on the collar of the dress too. So fun!

IMG_0235

IMG_0236

IMG_0149

IMG_0178

It was such a fun night full of good food, beautiful views, friends and a musical.  I can’t think of a better way to spend a friday night.

Shop this look: Dress: {similar here and here} necklace: {similar here and here} Heels: {almost identical here}

Has anyone else seen any good musicals or shows lately?!

xo,
H

Leave a Reply

