Rockport adventures

IMG_5067
(This building is called the Motif #1..It is the most painted building in America)

IMG_5058

This past weekend my family and I headed up to Rockport Massachusetts to visit my brother’s roommate and his family.  Over the last two years our family has gotten close with my brother’s roommate’s family so we were invited up to stay with them for the weekend.  They were the best hosts and showed us the grand tour of all of Cape Ann.

The first day we arrived we did some damage shopping on Bearskin Neck.  A famous street in Rockport with adorable shops and local artisans.  Actually funny story…but also super embarrassing.  So we arrive to my brother’s roommate’s house and I can’t find my suitcase anywhere.  I could have sworn I saw it in the trunk when we pulled out of the driveway buttttt low and behold I come to realize I left my bag at home (how does that happen you may ask…good question)  I swear, I was so good Abroad, never forgetting a single thing and then I come home and forget my ENTIRE bag for the weekend.  So looks like shopping spree for me! (JK but I did buy a really cute Rockport t-shirt to wear as a pajama top for the weekend).  Luckily there was a Marshalls down the road to pick up some underwear, a bathing suit and another shirt to wear for the weekend.  Double lucky for me my mom way over packed in the clothes department so I just borrowed from her for the other things I needed (Love you mom…thanks for being the same size as me 😉

So after the suitcase fiasco got straightened out we got onto the fun stuff. Saturday morning we did the grand tour of Rockport where we visited the quarries (unfortunately it was too cold to swim..) which were so beautiful.  We saw all the famous lookout spots and beaches and even took a boat ride on a fun little party boat.  It was really cool to get to see Cape Ann from the water.  I also couldn’t resist snapping photos of all the beautiful boats and housing lining the water.  That night we headed out for Mexican and there was a really fun block party occurring in downtown Gloucester.

IMG_5214

 

IMG_5156

 

IMG_5126

 

IMG_5187

 

IMG_5130

 

IMG_5244

I am telling you this weekend was quintessential New England.  This area, known as Cape Ann, is an island where Rockport and Gloucester are located.  It is that type of small town where everyone knows everyone and it was so funny seeing our friends greet so many people while were were out and about.  I felt like I was in the set of a movie (fun fact: the movie The Perfect Storm is a true story about a huge storm and a fishing boat from Gloucester…our friend’s cousin unfortunately was on the boat and was played by Marc Walberg.  The Proposal with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds is also filmed in Rockport!)

It was a fabulous and relaxing weekend filled with good food, friends, fun.  I snapped way too many photos and had the best time exploring another coastal New England town.

IMG_5246

Thanks for reading,

xo,
H

Leave a Reply

